parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds african grey, conures, senegals, amazon parrots parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds

Go Back   BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums > Specific Birds > African Greys
Advertising

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:17 AM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
dilemma

hello everyone.im azrul, from malaysia. i have a situation here.last week i logged into adpost.com.then i saw an ad that wrote "an african grey for adoption".and i manage to contact the person who's giving the grey for adoption.she said that i need to pay some sum to ship the bird over here(malaysia)by a pet service courier company..but now,i'm affraid if its a scam or what so ever .im just a college student.so, money is abit a issue for me..im affraid if i pay,and i dont get the bird.any experience or thoughts?plz help.thanks!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:26 AM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 64
I would look for the bird in Malaysia... How does she want to ship that poor bird that far??? Money is not only one issue I think... I'm sure there is AG close to your location. Good luck!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 06:03 AM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
ask them if you can deal with the shipping company directly. Verify that they area legit company before you send them any money.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 01:33 PM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 90
It's a scam! Run away!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 04:19 PM
Lisa's Tiki's Avatar
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Garden Grove, CA - USA
Posts: 209
It's probably a scam

Usually when they say the bird is free for adoption, but you have to pay a shipping fee. This is a scam that is used ALOT! They get you to send them the money for shipping and your "bird" never makes it to you. They probably don't even have a bird. If they sent you pictures, it's probably not even their pictures. Even if it is ligit, shipping a bird that far would be alot of stress on the poor thing.
__________________
Lisa, Tiki, Riley, and Shilo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:00 PM
Valo's Moirana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,702
why not look into adoption in the area where you live? nothing to be found?

i'd be suspicous
__________________
Bee
well-trained slave for the bossy GCC Valo (aka Mr. Stinkefuss)
mom to Nino, the Peachfronted Conure
step-"poop cleaner" for Ms. Princess Bella, the sun conure lady
love the godfids - Pita & Stupsi
proud sponsor of Mikey (blue-crown conure) at TGF
www.valobird.net - NEW UPDATE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 05:06 AM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
yeap,there are no where to be found for a bird to be adopted here in malaysia.sadly, in malaysia.everyone just wants to make a quick buck by selling their pet bird.even a budgie!! i havent heard ANY one in malaysia, that will post up a thread like "pet bird for adoption".how sad.i always wanted a grey.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:06 PM
kensbuns's Avatar
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,643
Send a message via MSN to kensbuns
And that is exactly what they prey on. You emotions!! Its a scam, dont send them your money!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:01 PM
Property Of BirdBoard.Com
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 573
I think craigslist has a section for malayisa. YOu can try making a wanted post. It's free :)
__________________
Dominique

Lucy~{F}~Vos/RS Eclectus~8 yo
Echo~{?}~Congo African Grey~1 1/2 yo
Harley~{F}~Blue and Gold Macaw~2 yo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 04:57 PM
Ginger's Avatar
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 63
It took me months, and MANY scams, just like the one you are dealing with now, before I found my beautiful Meeka. As soon as I started asking questions, these people would stop e-mailing me!

DON'T give up! But DON't send these SCAMMERS any freight money for their FREE birds either! Ask LOTS of questions! You'll find your African Grey. Good luck in your search.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dilemma Doyle'sMommy Bird Board Discussion 25 12-08-2006 11:50 PM
<Help!> Alpha Femals B&G Dilemma fractal.being Macaws 4 09-21-2006 02:06 PM
Urgent Urgent Bird Dilemma Respond immediately Birdmaniac1990 Bird Board Discussion 14 04-27-2005 02:59 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
All Content is Copyright © 2001-2007 BirdBoard.Com
Page generated in 0.21881 seconds with 10 queries