parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds african grey, conures, senegals, amazon parrots parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds

Go Back   BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums > BirdBoard.Com > Bird Board Discussion
Advertising

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:24 PM
New Member Of BirdBoard.Com
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Question Am I Being Scammed - African Grays

Please help me. I answered an advertisement for three African Grays for adoption from a guy who said he did not have the time to take care of them and was just looking for a good home. He said I would just have to pay shipping which I agreed. He said that his job has just recently transferred to Africa and he was in the states. He wants me to send a money gram for $182 for each parrot, and he is giving me the king cage with them. He just asks that I take care of them and send him pictures from time to time to let him know how they're doing. He wants me to send the money gram to The Republic of Cameroon.

Please give me your opinions, I am suppose to wire the money tomorrow. Thank you!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:27 PM
Graehstone's Avatar
Papagei Papa
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,676
Blog Entries: 9
Gut feeling here says Scam and I would be very careful sending anyone any money that is not in the States.
__________________
For thirty years he talked in feathered pride
For thirty years he talked before he died.
You say that parrots do not really know
The meaning of the words they speak? Just so,
I grant you that you may be right - but then,
Do men? Theodore Stephanides

http://www.eclecticdaydreams.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:31 PM
felisdomesticus's Avatar
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: among the gum trees
Posts: 2,940
that sounds like the Nigerian scam. Is the English really bad and they want their delivery merchant to carry out the transaction?

http://bustedupcowgirl.com/scam1.html
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:33 PM
BB Admin / Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 7,873
Blog Entries: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Kevin Send a message via AIM to Kevin Send a message via MSN to Kevin Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin
Anytime you have no financial recourse your bound to get scammed...

Sending a moneygram, cashiers check, etc where if the deal goes bad you cant get refunded its not a smart move... Why else would he ask for that form of payment. Becuase there is no way to get that person, especially overseas. Our laws are not honored. And They Know That!

I deal with programmers, designers and etc from all over the world russia, india, philipenes, canada. I never pay any upfront deposits with anything but my creditcard, paypal or some form of payment that guarentees my money.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:34 PM
Monica's Avatar
Passion for Parrots!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Reno, NV, USA, Earth, 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 13,411
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via AIM to Monica Send a message via MSN to Monica Send a message via Yahoo to Monica
Sounds like a typical scam to me! If they tell you to mail the money to some place or some other country, it's a scam.

If you want you can check out:
http://www.parrotpro.com/birdhand.htm
http://www.ftc.gov/spam/
http://www.epinions.com/content_4360872068/show_~allcom

Some will say that they will send you an amount of money, and for you to deduct the amount that the birds cost them, then give the rest of the money to a 'shipping agent', and then for you to ship the birds off to them...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:37 PM
SweetPea's Avatar
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 251
where are you from?

i know someone who is selling his sons' (his son moved out of the house) two greys for 1,000 for the two and their cage.

he wont deliver though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:44 PM
felisdomesticus's Avatar
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: among the gum trees
Posts: 2,940
You could also always check out www.petfinder.com There seem to be many African greys who are in rescues and in need of homes.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2005, 01:27 AM
TooVille Housekeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,834
Send a message via MSN to TooLover
If it sounds to good to be true, it usually is!
__________________
Hugs from TooVille
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2005, 01:40 AM
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 279
It's absolutely a scam.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:02 AM
Tiki's Avatar
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 15,442
Send a message via MSN to Tiki
Yup has scam written all over it!
__________________

Cockatiels: Tiki, Koro, Manu, Maui, Manea, Rangi, Shaka, Tattoo, Rima
Quaker Chaska
Blue Princess Parrot: Tjinimin
Green Princess Parrot: Manikay
Nanday Conure: Ixchel
Jenday Conure: Yaxche
Greencheek Conure: Chula
Sponsor Fids: Popcorn Park Cockatiel Family, TGF Golden Conures Banjo and Zoe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My African Grey thinks my cat is mom ITHINKISAWAPUDDYCAT Bird Board Discussion 7 11-16-2004 08:54 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
All Content is Copyright © 2001-2007 BirdBoard.Com
Page generated in 0.15582 seconds with 10 queries