parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds african grey, conures, senegals, amazon parrots parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds

Go Back   BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums > BirdBoard.Com > Bird Board Discussion
Advertising

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 04:08 AM
dunklekatze's Avatar
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
Posts: 209
Need Help! I'm interested in a Grey- but don't know if the seller is legit!

My husband and I are really interested in this Grey that we found in an ad- In the first email sent, I had asked where she was located, and she didn't respond to that question in the 2nd or 3rd email. I located her as being in Durham, NC and I'm out in Southern California. She wants to ship it, which obviously makes sense, but how do I go about checking her reputation? I asked for references, and have emailed them but both accounts and hers as well is from yahoo.com

The classified ad I have posted to sell my artwork would get responses from scammers with yahoo addresses, so I really don't know how to trust.

If anyone can give me insight as to how to check if this is a real deal, please leave messages!

Thank you!
Vanessa
dunkle.katze@gmail.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 04:51 AM
birdsnreps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,870
Send a message via Yahoo to birdsnreps
if she doesnt answer your Q's, walk away quick!! if in doubt, dont buy from them, never. a legit seller will make you feel at ease and answer all your questions, talk with you on the phone, send you pics, etc. you can easily catch a liar in their lies if you speak with them on the phone, thats what i do.
__________________
Quality breeders of Meyer's, Alexandrines, Senegals, Plum Headed Parakeets, Quakers, Patagonian Conures, Cockatiels, Black Headed Caiques, and more! Check us out at:
http://sweetskies.fruitwerks.us/

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 04:57 AM
dunklekatze's Avatar
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
Posts: 209
Thank you! I have yet to hear back from her references she had emailed me... I think I'll just have to call her up. I believe I found her ad on birdboard last night... the email is [email address removed to protect the identity of others on this board... by PowerBBS]
and here's the link if anyone's curious: http://www.birdboard.com/classifieds...p?product=1437

Last edited by PowerBBS; 02-06-2008 at 04:27 PM. Reason: We try as much as possible to not disclose email addresses or contact information unless told to do so directly by the recipient.... sorry.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 05:22 AM
Lisa B's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: By the sea
Posts: 9,242
you have to let us know how it goes. good luck
__________________
"Wisdom is the reward for listening over one's lifetime"....

www.thegreyroost.com

My Angels waiting at the Rainbow Bridge
~~~~
Sampson Bell (CAG) Otis (TAG) Polly (OWA)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:07 AM
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatoon, saskatchewan, canada
Posts: 327
If someone wants to sell a bird they won't make it difficult for the buyer!
__________________
Click the eggies so they can hatch!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008, 07:43 AM
birdsnreps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,870
Send a message via Yahoo to birdsnreps
exactly!! if she is legit, she may just have other buyers that contacted her before you did or been busy with her life, but who knows. i dont think its normal for you to be asking her questions in THREE emails, and still not get a straight answer...for me, that fact alone would make me run the other way and find another breeder....but thats just me i say talking to her on the phone will prob be the best way for you to find out if she is legit or not, and since you will be actually talking to each other, you can hear her tone of voice, and you can ask her your questions and she should be able to give you a straight answer right then and there. she wont have time to ponder and think and edit her answer, the way she would if she were writing you an email.
__________________
Quality breeders of Meyer's, Alexandrines, Senegals, Plum Headed Parakeets, Quakers, Patagonian Conures, Cockatiels, Black Headed Caiques, and more! Check us out at:
http://sweetskies.fruitwerks.us/

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2008, 12:44 AM
dunklekatze's Avatar
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
Posts: 209
Thanks!

Well, thank you for the insight everyone! Unfortunately/Fortunately I decided to not take it. I felt so absolutely dumb when I realized "why not ask the breeder I picked up my sun conure from?"

Now I know better, thank you so much for the advice and tips... I really wish I had common sense at times. lol Take care!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2008, 01:09 AM
My Bird(s) Own Me!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 220
Blog Entries: 1
That's good that you thought of that. I think NC to SoCal is way too long of a distance to ship a bird.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2008, 04:26 AM
Lisa B's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: By the sea
Posts: 9,242
thanks for the update.
__________________
"Wisdom is the reward for listening over one's lifetime"....

www.thegreyroost.com

My Angels waiting at the Rainbow Bridge
~~~~
Sampson Bell (CAG) Otis (TAG) Polly (OWA)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:45 PM
Certified BirdBoard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 10
I have a similar question I'm new to the board (love it!) and am looking at a pair of Grey's and the gal has been great chatting w/me via email and had pics but what is the best way to buy and protect both of us? I am thinking I could send payment via Paypal but what about making sure I am getting what I think I'm getting etc.? also these birds will be shipped.. anything I should know or ask.. does not seem to be a breeder seems to be a private owner..? thanks!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Keep An African Grey Parrot Happy Kevin Avian Related News & Articles 29 11-21-2008 02:24 PM
When Will MY African Grey Congo Start to Talk? houstonlady53 African Greys 10 12-31-2007 02:48 AM
Bird Talk - Share your bird stories and African Grey Owners! Monica Bird Board Discussion 1 12-15-2006 10:21 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
All Content is Copyright © 2001-2007 BirdBoard.Com
Page generated in 0.15274 seconds with 10 queries