|
|
|||
|
Okay, maybe a moderator or somebody can step in and help me out here. I have once again been contacted through my personal e-mail account from someone possibly from here or searching this site. They are asking me to give up the rights to the pictures of my Miligold that I have posted here.
Here is a copy of the e-mail that was send to me: This is a message from Estepa at BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums ( BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums ). The BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email. To email Estepa, you can use this online form: BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums OR, by email: mailto:aviarioestepa@hotmail.com This is the message: Hello I'm doing different jobs on avian medicine, some are published in various journals in Spain. I also disclosed some species. I've seen the pictures of your Miligold macaw and are very illustrative. You can selflessly donate their photos and their rights to aviarioestepa@hotmail.com or aviarioestepa@gmail.com I need the pictures are of a size exceeding 250 Kb (the bigger the better) for printing and are not published elsewhere. Many thanks and greetings. David-Barcelona (Spain) WHY ME? Why would I selflessly donate and relinquish the rights to them to a total stranger? Why would somebody ask me to do this? Is this a scam? I know hes a pretty bird. Would you give up the rights to these pictures?
__________________
Kelly Owned By: Marvin - Severe Macaw Dewey - Hahns Macaw Erma - Yellow Collared Macaw Captain Morgan - Miligold Macaw Keeva - Blue Crowned Conure Roxie (BCC) Sully (YCM) & Rufus aka "Roo" (CHC) R.I.P. "Wait for me under the "Rainbow Bridge" my babies. |
|
|||
|
Sounds like a scam to me. I've seen several photos recently that were obviously stolen used on scam ads.
Unless the publisher themselves contacts you with documents and they are a real company, I would say no.
__________________
Slave to fourteen+ birds ![]() 1 IRN, 3 Cockatiels, 10+ Lady Gouldian Finches My Favorite Bird Links Neopets, Online games and Virtual Pets. Help me earn a Draik by signing up |
|
|||
|
Its just weird. I did not answer of course. Also, if you click on his Bird Board Message Link above...It says that this member does wish to take any e-mails.
Seems fishy to me.
__________________
Kelly Owned By: Marvin - Severe Macaw Dewey - Hahns Macaw Erma - Yellow Collared Macaw Captain Morgan - Miligold Macaw Keeva - Blue Crowned Conure Roxie (BCC) Sully (YCM) & Rufus aka "Roo" (CHC) R.I.P. "Wait for me under the "Rainbow Bridge" my babies. |
|
||||
|
Ive had the same email message - I delete it.
__________________
"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else." -C.S. Lewis Calypso - Harlequin Macaw Lizzy - Sulfur-crested Cockatoo Buckeye and Charlie - African Greys Willow - Blue-fronted Amazon |
|
|||
|
On the other hand...
If they just wanted to use it for scam purposes, they could just steal it (not real hard to do!) I really do think they are probably legit. I used to do a lot of photography (before everthing went digital). You need to get signed waivers if there are less than 3 people in the photo and you wish to publish it ("group" shots are exempt), you need to sign releases for use that can be really specific as to what it can and cannot be used for and by who and whether they have sole use of it and for how long a time. It is a legal nightmare. If someone wants to use it for a published paper, they would need to get your permission. The fact that they are doing so actually speaks well of them! You need to get a clause of use form for them if you are particular as to what they are using it for and how it is to be distributed. Sorry... just my 2 cents worth. I personally would probably let them, as: 1) They were nice enough to ask! 2) It is most likely for a very legit and highly controlled use or they would not have to have documentation and would NOT have asked. 3) I am at a complete loss as to how those pics could be used in a bad light. They show a gorgeous example of a bird given exemplary care. I adore the one where he is eating and could see how it would be coveted by someone needing illustration for a paper or book! |
|
|||
|
Yeah, my first thought was that they could very easily just copy the photos and use them, and you'd probably never know...and it's pretty amazing that they were polite enough to ask.
I run a large discussion forum for Tokidoki, which is the art of Italian artist Simone Legno (www.tokidoki-forum in case anyone is interested)...the purses and bags are a big collectors item and tons are bought/sold on eBay. We've had SOOOOOO many problems with people stealing photos of my members' bags and then using them to list fraudulent sales on eBay. I caution everyone to prominently watermark all photos they post on my board for that very reason. -SB
__________________
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Kelly Owned By: Marvin - Severe Macaw Dewey - Hahns Macaw Erma - Yellow Collared Macaw Captain Morgan - Miligold Macaw Keeva - Blue Crowned Conure Roxie (BCC) Sully (YCM) & Rufus aka "Roo" (CHC) R.I.P. "Wait for me under the "Rainbow Bridge" my babies. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| scam emails | jriley | Bird Board Discussion | 1 | 04-08-2007 12:09 PM |