parrots, macaws, pet birds, cockatiels, lovebirds african grey, conures, senegals, amazon parrots

Go Back   BirdBoard.Com - Parrot Message Board & Pet Bird Owner Forums > BirdBoard.Com > The Lounge
Advertising

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:59 PM
Vega's Avatar
Property Of BirdBoard.Com
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 590
Something seems off

Ok all, I was looking on my local Craiglist and someone had a post up for a Hyacinth Macaw. Of course it's my dream to be a part of a Hy's life...so against my better judgement I sent an email requesting more info. They are asking $1000 (yes just one thousand) for the bird, cage, and shipping from KY. Of course my eyes popped out and my head spun around when I read that, so I responded that I want to see pics and asked WHY she's asking so little when they typically sell for 10 times that amount for the bird alone. She said it's this cheap because she's adopting it out. BUt the ad I originally saw has been removed and what can I say, I'm just suspicious of this stuff! Any advice or how to proceed? If she's for real...well gosh I wouldn't want to walk away.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:01 PM
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 19,064
RUN AWAY. NO healthy Hy is going to be sold for $1,000. That's ludicrous. And for the record, there were a bunch of birds stolen in Florida that were positive for PDD. I'd be VERY cautious about bringing ANY bird into my home for quite some time.
__________________
A bird is the only pet that will ever tell you I love you.

4 BG macws: Dreamer, The Fabulous Margarita, Mia and Sailor
1 Greenwing: Eenie
1 Severe Macaw: Chi Chi
1 Yellow Nape Amazon: Taco
1 Timneh African Grey: Radar
1 Quaker: Tilde
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:06 PM
birdyland's Avatar
I COULD WRITE A BOOK!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,659
Send a message via Yahoo to birdyland
These postings are common..... and usually a "camaroon scam". Google it, basically, there's no bird.

Since the seller is uncooperative, my assumption is that this is a scam, either camaroon, or a sick or stolen bird. There are pleanty of people that would pay $1k IN Kentucky, there's no reason for her to be advertising in PA in the first place.
__________________
~Dana~
Tiki the Scarlet Macaw (f)
RED the Greenwing Macaw (m)
Niki the M2 (f) (lives w/ friends)
FINCHES: 2 fawn (f) zebras and Tweety the brown (m) canary!
TAZ - RED Toy Poodle (m)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:11 PM
My Bird is An Honor Student at BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 783
Whats a camaroon scam ? i've never heard of that before and I have no idea what a craig's list is.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:39 PM
BirdBoard Junkie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: south carolina
Posts: 414
these scammers are from overseas and they like to post about any where they can so that they can scam somebody. craigslist is a weird place to say the least cannot be trusted.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:41 PM
Samm's Avatar
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,833
Send a message via AIM to Samm Send a message via MSN to Samm Send a message via Yahoo to Samm
www.craigslist.org

They sell all kinds of stuff on there.


But yeah, what Nancy said.....don't even bother; the risk of PDD is out there and you couldn't even get a 10 week old baby Hy for $1000. It's just craziness.
__________________
Samm B.
Orlando, Florida
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:46 PM
birdyland's Avatar
I COULD WRITE A BOOK!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,659
Send a message via Yahoo to birdyland
actually, I've gotten some wonderful things from craigslist... including a 8'x7'x4' aviary... second hand. BUT you have to be careful to protect yourself. It is a free classified site.

"cameroon scams" originated in Cameroon, but it's basically a wire transfer fraud or other type of fraud where they get the money and run, leaving you SOL. Often, they say there was a mistake, send it again, and then they get even MORE money.... The scammed person often is technically guilty of fraud too.

I suggest when working with craigslist, stay local and deal in local, realtime sales/trades with CASH.
__________________
~Dana~
Tiki the Scarlet Macaw (f)
RED the Greenwing Macaw (m)
Niki the M2 (f) (lives w/ friends)
FINCHES: 2 fawn (f) zebras and Tweety the brown (m) canary!
TAZ - RED Toy Poodle (m)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:50 PM
I Live, Eat & Sleep BirdBoard
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 19,064
The other problem can be long distance telephone scams. They provide a phone number on some island where you can be billed upwards of $50 a MINUTE. Needless to say, they keep you on the phone as long as possible. When you are looking into buying something as rare as a Hy macaw, you need as much protection as you can get. Some adults are currently retailing at $15,000. Yup, you heard me correctly.
__________________
A bird is the only pet that will ever tell you I love you.

4 BG macws: Dreamer, The Fabulous Margarita, Mia and Sailor
1 Greenwing: Eenie
1 Severe Macaw: Chi Chi
1 Yellow Nape Amazon: Taco
1 Timneh African Grey: Radar
1 Quaker: Tilde
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:55 PM
radiogirl995's Avatar
I LOVE BirdBoard.Com
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 661
I'd report this to the Craigslist scam people...

I use CL a LOT (Have 3 pieces of furniture for sale there now!) and they work very hard to make sure you don't get taken...but they can only do so much. Common sense is a must in any online transaction!

Remember: If it sounds too good to be true...it is!

(But I am apparently inheriting millions of dollars from someone in Nigeria as soon as I send them my account numbers!!!)
__________________
Kris, Bailey Dog and CAG - Tuki
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:52 AM
BirdBoard Junkie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdyland
"cameroon scams" originated in Cameroon, but it's basically a wire transfer fraud or other type of fraud where they get the money and run, leaving you SOL. Often, they say there was a mistake, send it again, and then they get even MORE money.... The scammed person often is technically guilty of fraud too.
I've heard of these scams and they sound terrible. If she won't even show you pics of the bird, there is something very wrong.
__________________

sig made by me-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
All Content is Copyright © 2001-2007 BirdBoard.Com
Page generated in 0.14908 seconds with 9 queries